Final decisions in the German Excellence Strategy

Excellence Commission selected ten Universities and one University Consortium of Excellence

On 19 July 2019, the Excellence Commission has taken the much-awaited decisions in the first call of the funding line “Universities of Excellence” of the German Excellence Strategy. Out of 19 applications, ten universities and one university consortium of Excellence were selected to receive permanent institutional funding as well as the sought-after title as universities of excellence.

Selected were (in alphabetical order):
RWTH Aachen University
Berlin University Alliance
University of Bonn
Technische Universität Dresden
Universität Hamburg
Heidelberg University
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
University of Konstanz
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Technical University of Munich
University of Tübingen

Please find the full press release here.